There are 3 universities in Thessaloniki.

If you're studying here or you're planning to study here, this is some useful information about them!


The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki is the largest university in Greece. The main campus is located in the centre of the city of Thessaloniki, and covers an area of about 33.4 hectares. It comprises 10 faculties which consist of 40 schools and 1 single-School Faculty.

Some educational and administrative facilities are located off campus for practical and operational reasons. A number of these facilities are located outside the city of Thessaloniki or even in other cities.


ATEITH comprises 4 schools (faculties) and 17 Departments offering, in total, almost 1000 courses/modules in 20 Programmes of Studies, for local students. A great number of them (continuously expanding) are offered in English, either with full lectures, lab exercises and project assignments according to the local students’ timetable or with a proper combination of lectures/lab exercises and/or projects, depending on the number of attendees and the course requirements. In any case the learning outcomes (as described in the course catalogue) are guaranteed, provided that the students follow consistently the timetable and instructions given. Details about the courses offered in English can be found in the Course Catalogue. ATEITH is committed to provide a universally accessible and enjoyable teaching and learning experience for all students.




In its sixth decade of operation, the University of Macedonia, the continuity of the historical Graduate School of Industrial Studies of Thessaloniki, is a modern state Higher Education institution, renowned for the ambience of quality, freedom, democracy, meritocracy and individual development it provides to all its members: students, Academic and Research Staff and university employees.